Tashirat: Part Two

15 Aug

This post is a continuation of Tashirat: Part One

In the sparse, sad journal I kept in my time at Tashirat, I compare trying to write about my day to taking pictures with the cheap camera I had at the time (there’s a reason that so many of these pictures were pulled from the Tashirat website).  Neither my descriptions nor the poor-quality photos could capture the beauty of the place.  But I’ve dredged through my memories to rescue what I could, and done my best to make it presentable.  This post focuses on the kids; the third and final Tashirat post will talk about the surrounding area.

One of my first days there, and on various days afterwards, I hung out with Danari’s brood.  Her eldest was usually off being tutored, leaving four more at home: two girls named Tanisha and Estefany, a boy Gaby, and a baby named Jordi.  I fed them their lunch–cucumber and homemade tofu–and kept an eye on the boys while the girls chattered away in Spanish, pulling my hair into multiple ponytails and showing me their coloring books.

Jordan (Jordi), the youngest of Danari’s kids, was nearly catatonic when he came to them.  The youngest of five children, all of whom now reside at Tashirat, Jordi was suffering from severe neglect.  The five siblings had been more or less abandoned by their parents, left in the care of a boy of eight who was just barely able to keep them alive.  When they arrived, all five of them shared the same speech impediment.  When it began to disappear, the staff realized that the younger kids had all learned it from their brother Abundio, who had been their sole caregiver.  Like the rest of the Tashirat kids, these five bloomed under the care of the Tashirat staff.  After months of care and attention they began to see some smiles from Jordi.

Here are a few more Tashirat pictures, taken from their facebook page and the Tashirat website.

More information on Tashirat can be found on their website.  If you’re interested in making a one-time donation to the orphanage or the Ixaya school or sponsoring a child, you can do so here.

Leave a Reply

